The Athena Film Festival kicked off last night at Barnard College with an awards ceremony honoring the breakthrough achievements of thirteen extraordinary film world mavericks.

Citing them as her “colleagues and influences,” former ABC correspondent and author Lynn Sherr called ten women to the podium to receive awards for their achievements as directors, producers, distributors, film reporters, screenwriters, and cinematographers: Delia Ephron, Chris Hegedus, Debra Martin Chase, Anne Thompson, Debra Zimmerman, Nancy Schreiber, Tanya Hamilton, Leslie Bennetts, Abigail Disney and Gini Reticker.

Read more

Photo by: Barnard College/Asiya Khaki