Athena Awards

Athena Film Festival Awards

From 2011 – 2020, The Athena Film Festival at Barnard College held an awards ceremony that honored extraordinary women and men for their leadership and creative accomplishments in the film industry. Past honorees included: Amma Asante, Ava Duvernay, Beanie Feldstein, Greta Gerwig, J.J. Abrams, Karyn Kusama, and Paul Feig, to view the full list of past awardees click here.

In addition to the Athena Awards, we would name a Laura Ziskin Lifetime Achievement Winner each year. Inaugurated in 2012 in honor of Laura’s extraordinary leadership, the award honors a woman in the industry whose leadership demonstrates vision and courage and sets a standard for others to emulate. Recipients of this award included: Barbara Kopple, Mira Nair, Jodie Foster, Sherry Lansing, and Gale Anne Hurd. For more information click here.

Athena Ad Awards

Created in 2017, as a joint project of The 3% Movement and the Athena Film Festival, the Athena Advertising Awards recognize creative advertising that depicts strong, bold women from all walks of life; we recognize marketing messages infused with ambition, courage, resilience, and moxie. To view each category and to see past winners, click here.